16 Mar 2015

IPNI China Program 2014 Annual Meeting Was Held in Beihai, Guangxi

Group Picture at IPNI China Program 2014 Annual Meeting

During Feb 11-12th, 2015, the International Plant Nutrition Institute (IPNI) China Program 2014 annual meeting was held in Beihai, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. Over 70 representatives including Dr. Adrian Johnston, Vice President of IPNI, all staffs from IPNI China Program, collaborators from 22 research institutions and representatives from five IPNI member companies participated in this meeting. Dr. Quanbao Ye, Deputy Division Chief of American and Oceanian Affairs, Department of International Cooperation, MOA, Dr. Dongxin Feng, Deputy Director General, Department of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), Dr. Minggang Xu, Deputy Director General, Institute of Agricultural Resources and Regional Planning, CAAS, attended the opening ceremony and made speeches.

There were five keynote presentations from Dr. Adrian Johnston, Dr. Ping He, Dr. Shihua Tu, Dr. Fang Chen and Dr. Shutian Li on “IPNI Global Strategy and China Program Priority”, “Nutrient Expert based Fertilizer Recommendation,” “Research Progress on IPNI Southeast region”, “Potassium Management and Future Perspective” and “Crop 4R Nutrient Management”, respectively. In addition, 27 special presentations focused on Nutrient Expert for wheat, maize, rice and soybean, Ecological Intensification, 4R (right source, right rate, right time and right place) Nutrient Management, and agronomic evaluation of control-release Urea (CRU). This meeting provided a great platform of discussion and ideas exchange to all participants coming to this meeting.

As an important part of this meeting, five Chinese graduate students who received 2014 IPNI Scholarship were offered the awards at the meeting. Since 2007, IPNI offers awards to outstanding graduate students majoring in plant nutrition and related areas. In the year of 2014, there were totally 30 winners standing out from 216 applicants, and five of them are from China. They are Chao Ai, from Institute of Agricultural Resources and Regional Planning, CAAS, Yanling Chen, from China Agricultural University, Yanshu Hao, from Huazhong Agricultural University, Junfeng Pan, from Anhui Agricultural University, and Xiao Wang, from Wuhan Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

More about: 联合实验室